Does This Haircut Make Me Look Butch?

Me and my doppleganger

Me and my doppelganger – guess who’s who!

 

Recently I went with my ex- husband to visit my son at school and talk to his college counselor and adviser.  Great meeting, made me feel more confident about Furious and college. Not sure about his feelings, but I’m the important one here.  On the way out of the building we heard someone calling out to Furious and “family”.  It turned out to be his new history teacher who seemed very eager to introduce himself to us.  He grabbed my ex’s hand, “You must be Furious’ father.  Great to meet you.”  He then swiveled in my direction, looked me straight in the eyes and said, ” And you must be his brother…… (tremendous dramatic pause here)…. Mom!!”  You could basically hear the “oh shit, oh shit, oh shit” coming from the foot in his mouth.

He might be taller than me and in better shape, but it never fails.  Every time I cut my hair (very) short, someone mistakes me for my son’s brother.  Never mind the fact that I have a D sized chest, people never make it past my missing locks when assigning me a gender.  When we got to the car, I laughed a lot.  I’m still laughing.  The look on his teacher’s face when he realized he had failed to recognize my lady parts was absolutely priceless.

I realized that I think it’s so funny because we all get so upset about gender identification.   Why do we freak out when someone doesn’t recognize our fuzzy newborn lump of a child is a boy?  Is it necessary to put so much pink on a baby girl that she practically looks like the vagina she just popped out of?

I am learning that there are many different ways people view sex, gender, and sexuality. I think it is great that we are now asking people what pronoun they prefer. Facebook is giving you 50 options in case you need that many.  If I occasionally get called a “sir” in order to shave 20 minutes off my shower time and save 40 bucks a month on product, that’s all good.  Hell my new name can be Carl for all I care. My husband still sleeps with me and I feel pretty hot.  And perception is reality, right?

I might need to lose weight, but I don't need to gain hair!

I might need to lose weight, but I don’t need to gain hair!

 

Leave a Reply

